Early Years

Reception & EYFS

Starting Reception is an exciting time for children and their families but we recognise that it can also be a daunting time for everyone too. Please see below to find out a little more about what it means to be in Reception at Heathfield Academy and what you can do to help your child settle quickly.


At Heathfield Academy we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework which has 7 areas of development. These are divided into three prime areas and 4 specific areas of learning:

Prime areas of learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific areas of learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Through this framework we provide an exciting, creative and well planned Early Years Curriculum developing our children’s social skills, turn taking, sharing and listening. Our curriculum also ensures our children gain a strong foundation in Literacy and Mathematics as well as developing their creative and physical skills and nurturing their personal, social and emotional development.

At Heathfield Academy we have a thematic approach to teaching and learning throughout the Early Years. The 7 main areas of development are used by the Reception team to plan meaningful learning opportunities enabling the children to follow their own individual interests. Our staff further develop the children’s learning through supporting and extending opportunities in their play.

The children have access to a range of learning opportunities both inside and outside the classroom. Within this environment the children are encouraged to take risks and develop independence within their learning. We nurture confidence, resilience and independence in all of our children as we believe the children’s development during this crucial stage underpins their future learning and the children’s love of learning.